Th Bears’ Oscars come to Bath Cricket Club…..

by | Nov 20, 2018 | Archived

And so the big day dawned.  The one we had all been waiting for.  The social event of the Bear Flat Cricketing calendar.  Hopes were raised, frocks were displayed on their hangers, ready for the ladies of BFCC to frock up and shine as only they know how. 

The venue looked beautiful.  A clear, starry night, moon high in the sky bathing the Abbey in central Bath in a fairytale light.  One by one the stars of the show started to arrive.  The umpires, the players, the management team, the ladies.  All gathered to showcase the talent, spirit and camaraderie known to the world as Bear Flat Cricket Club.

Everyone arrived (well nearly everyone Mr Marshall) promptly and a cricket themed grace was tendered by the unflappable Mr Andrew Ebdon. The dinner provided by Strawberry Fields was beautifully presented, expertly cooked, and delivered promptly.  Then came the main event.

It must be said that behind every great cricket club there exists a plethora of support; management team, supporters, scorers, umpires and the most important of all, those who feed the inner man, the ladies and gentlemen who week in week out provide the Bear Flat teas, renowned in the Wiltshire League as the best in the business. 

However, we all acknowledge that what really excites everyone is performance on the pitch.  With some truly memorable moments last year (300 plus run chase at Lansdown, with a great partnership between Ross Newman and Jack Mainwaring, which The Bears won!), doing the double over Winsley, and the now infamous innings of Chris Bence’s century and Simon Cox’s 67 not out against Swindon, to name a few.

JC pushed back his chair and reached for the microphone.  The moment had arrived.  All bets were now off, it was time to announce the winners, in true Strictly fashion, in no particular order.

The Saturday captain Mark Gunning, received the highest number of awards, for Saturday XI Batsman, Saturday XI Players’ Player and Clubman of the year.  He was also presented with a “Just One More Year” plea from the players, a great team photo after the Winsley win, signed by all the players, and something to be treasured, showing the depth of support this skipper inspires.






Sunday XI Captain Damien Cull followed closely with two awards, Sunday XI Bowler and Sunday team Players’ Player.  As did Ross Newman, who took Sunday XI Batsman and Sunday XI Captain’s Players’ Player awards.






Players who received awards for the second year running were Shreyas Malhotra, demon of spin, receiving the Saturday XI Bowler and Jay Morris, Club All rounder award….






The Saturday XI’s captain Player of the Year, went to arguably the best wicket keeper in the Wiltshire league, the indomitable Mr Sam Vesey.  A very special award, Lifetime Member, was given to Dave Godman, who led The Bears to many successes on the pitch and is still a member of the management committee.  Congratulations Dave on joining this elite group.






Congratulations to all our worthy winners.  Here’s to a successful 2019 campaign.  COYB!